Getting my Lorenz working again.

For service and support with i-Telex, its components and teleprinters in general

Moderator: M1ECY

Antworten

Topic author
JDAngus
Rank 1
Rank 1
Beiträge: 6
Registriert: Di 14. Nov 2017, 17:28
Hauptanschluß: 76470

Getting my Lorenz working again.

#1

Beitrag von JDAngus »

After about 5 years of down time, I finally got my Lo-15c clean and shiny again.
*grins* Hasn't looked this clean since 1963 probably.

So, next step, connect everything again and see if it works.
First off, there's an "extra part" laying on the bench. I have no idea what is or where it goes.
Mystery Part

Secondly, when I press the LT button on the Call Control Unit, it runs open. I noticed a open resistor by the selector wiring.
Disconnected

Any help is welcome.

Jeff

Benutzeravatar

M1ECY
Rank 9
Rank 9
Beiträge: 275
Registriert: Fr 11. Aug 2017, 13:13
Wohnort: Hitchin Hertfordshire, UK
Hauptanschluß: 459724

Re: Getting my Lorenz working again.

#2

Beitrag von M1ECY »

Hi Jeff,

Nice to see you on here :)

Sorry cant help with the extra parts, but I am sure one of the experts will comment soon enough

Sean
459724 SEAN G - Te Ka De FS200 - Working 24/7
666507 JONAB G - BT Cheetah 85 - Working sometimes
350470 Ersatz G - J-Term - Not Used
BT Cheetah 87 RIP.
Siemens T68d - Working - Not connected yet
778672 WSWHQ G - BT Super Cheetah - on 312526


Topic author
JDAngus
Rank 1
Rank 1
Beiträge: 6
Registriert: Di 14. Nov 2017, 17:28
Hauptanschluß: 76470

Re: Getting my Lorenz working again.

#3

Beitrag von JDAngus »

Well, one problem down.

As a test, I unplugged the Lorenz from the CCU and directly into the TW-39 card on my i-Telex box.
Pushed the LT button to turn the motor on, and Presto! The Lorenz fired up and sat there patiently waiting for me to type something or feed it a punched paper tape.

(From the Three Stooges) "Slowly I turned. Step by step. Inch by inch."

Jeff


Topic author
JDAngus
Rank 1
Rank 1
Beiträge: 6
Registriert: Di 14. Nov 2017, 17:28
Hauptanschluß: 76470

Re: Getting my Lorenz working again.

#4

Beitrag von JDAngus »

Does anyone have a clean .pdf copy of the Lorenz Lo-15b schematic?
The one I have appears to be a photograph and isn't very clear.

Jeff


Topic author
JDAngus
Rank 1
Rank 1
Beiträge: 6
Registriert: Di 14. Nov 2017, 17:28
Hauptanschluß: 76470

Re: Getting my Lorenz working again.

#5

Beitrag von JDAngus »

"Always something." The internal supply on the Lo-15b went tits up.
At first I suspected the selenium rectifier, but on opening it up, apparently it had already gone tits up and had been rebuilt with silicon diodes.
However, the 50 uF filter capacitor was reading 0.2 uF so that got replaced and finally Gr3 was open.
Now there's 90 VDC across terminals a2 and b2.

Antworten

Zurück zu „Service and Support“