My First « Near Working » Teletype ASR-33

For service and support with i-Telex, its components and teleprinters in general

Topic author
KraftwerkNation63
Rank 1
Rank 1
Hauptanschluß:

My First « Near Working » Teletype ASR-33

Beitrag: # 37678Beitrag KraftwerkNation63 »

Hi Everyone,

I see that I have put my topic in the wrong section. I’m not German, so I post this topic in the international section. Maybe someone of you, remember my first presentation, of my Sagem SP5A. Unfortunatly, the documentations, spare parts, etc... Are very difficult to found. And the "specific", two voltage system, of the Sagem is a brake to the idea to repare it. So, i have take the decision to sell it!

I have found, on the road of my holiday, a ASR-33. In working condition when he was stored. 15 years ago...! After a first start, the situation, is i think not bad. Don't hesitate to say advice to me. Because, i am a really beginner.

Here the movie of the first start:

So, the next step, is to try to limit the problem of the "double character" or "wrong character", after that, try to found the missing parts, and try to connect it to your network with your help.

Thanks for your help.

Théo

M1ECY
Rank 7
Rank 7
Hauptanschluß: 669089

Re: My First « Near Working » Teletype ASR-33

Beitrag: # 37680Beitrag M1ECY »

Hello Theo,

Okay, so the ASR33 you have there is a 7bit machine, so for computer use, rather than Telex (Telex machines are 5 bit - like your Sagem SP5)

This is why the paper strip you had at 17mm wide is too narrow for this machine.

This also explains the "Shift" Keys and CTRL Keys - these are part of the ASCII character set, not part of the ITA2 character set as used in Telex systems.

The double printing of characters is almost certainly down to the machine requiring a good clean and full lubrication service.

Hope this helps
Sean
669089 Siemen G - T100S Online 24H
299709 Antosh G - Creed 444 - Double Current R + D (0800 - 2100) and a bit tempremental
459724 NC